Patch 1.13 is out with a major update to our saving system that will greatly improve reliability in case of file corruption or unusual circumstances (like reports of power going out, etc. that then lost biodomes for people). When you launch after the upgrade, it will convert all your save files, which means the first load will be longer than usual.
So far we've had two users report issues -- one who is having a biodome crash on load, and one with extremely long load times. We tested it as thoroughly as we could before going live, but of course testing with 20 people we can get to do it versus the entire user base of thousands of players can reveal some additional issues we didn't find before a release.
We are working on debugging the issue, but for now, we'd like to recommend backing up your save files if you have not yet upgraded to 1.13 just to be safe, if you're worried about losing biodomes.
Here's some instructions in case you want to save a back up your save file.
1). Locate your save file. Both Windows and Mac locations are different, so I'll list them both here.
Windows directory:
C:->users-> -> AppData -> Local-> Tyto Ecology
The AppData Folder is hidden by default, so you'll have to enable viewing hidden options.
You can do this by selecting the view tab located at the top of your window then turning on the "Hidden items" checkbox.
Mac directory:
In your finder, click on "Go" on the top bar and hold down your option key to reveal the hidden folder, and then click on the Library Folder. Then go to application support -> Epic -> Tyto Ecology
2). Compress the Tyto Ecology folder through .zip, 7zip, or by right clicking and sending to a compressed file. If you're not comfortable compressing the folder to create a backup, then you can choose to copy and paste the "Tyto Ecology" Folder somewhere else where you'll remember it.
After you upgrade, the old save files will be in the previous format and if you run into any issues you can hold onto them while we debug from reported problems and then you can try the upgrade again after a hotfix is released.