
All Hands gameplay is heavily dependent upon the decisions a player makes, and it was always intended that a players choices would be permanent, rather than allowing a player to simply save prior to a decision, and reload for a different outcome.
In practice, saving your game in All Hands deviates from other games in two ways:
Firstly, only a single save game file is allowed. A player is free to start a new game at any time, but saving that new game will overwrite any other campaign save game file. A single save game file ensures that most players will play the game as intended when it comes to saving and loading their progress.
Secondly, a players save is loaded at the end of an in-game day. This means a save game is loaded during travel to the next system, regardless of where the player was when the save was created. Players should complete all their business within a star system before saving their game, but no content can be missed by a player due to this.
Steam Cloud save files are now live, but have been implemented in accordance with the above, and so only the players single save file will be uploaded to the cloud.