While testing things out today, I found out that the dungeons were not always saved between play sessions. I believe it's working now.
It would not always happen, but if you went into the dungeon, then exited, went to the city, and saved there and exited the game, it would not save the dungeon file. On your next play session, the dungeon would be re-set and whatever you mapped would be missing.